Leadership teams named for Advanced Robotics Manufacturing

By Stacey Federoff, Pittsburgh Business Times

Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing announced its inaugural leadership teams.

Four teams of 10 to 13 academic and corporate representatives have formed to lead the public-private partnership, known as ARM.

“Our inaugural council members represent some of the most innovative organizations in the industrial robotics and education ecosystem, and we are extremely pleased to have them work with ARM and our members to drive our mission of growing U.S. manufacturing”, said Byron Clayton, ARM CEO, in a prepared statement. “We look forward to receiving their support and advice as we continue to drive our nation’s manufacturing renaissance.”

The teams include a stakeholder executive committee, including Martial Herbert of Carnegie Mellon University; the education and workforce advisory committee; the technical advisory committee; and the regional collaboratives council, including Anna Mancuso and Matt Minner of Catalyst Connection.

The group, founded in January 2017 and a part of the Manufacturing USA network, has partnered with Carnegie Mellon University to establish Hazelwood Green’s Mill 19, which held a preview open house of the former steel plant in November.

ARM, partially funded by the U.S. Department of Defense, will research how industry can use new robotics technology, and named Clayton as CEO in January.

A full list of committee members are:

Stakeholder Executive Committee will advise on strategic business operations, ongoing operations, business and sustainability plan and performance metrics.

  • Martial Hebert, Carnegie Mellon University
  • David Hills, Airbus
  • Matthew Kiley, Arconic Technology Center
  • Robbie Mandelbaum, Lockheed Martin
  • Prabhakar Pagilla, Texas A&M University
  • Dave Rapaport, Siemens Corporate Technology
  • Curtis Richardson, Spirit AeroSystems Inc.
  • Joerg Schulte, BMW
  • Le Tang, ABB
  • Krystyn Van Vliet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Education and Workforce Advisory Committee will work on the design and implementation of industry-partnered training and credentialing programs to prepare a future workforce.

  • Cindy Lawley, Texas A&M University
  • Nadja Koehler, ABB
  • Brian Wilson, Duro UAS
  • Ronald Marlow, National Urban League
  • Patrick Hillberg, Siemens Digital Factory
  • Ron Painter, National Association of Workforce Boards
  • Dion Jackson, University of Southern California
  • Mike Gennert, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Doug Jensen, Rock Valley College
  • Sarah Dagit, Phoenix First Response
  • Scott Leonard, Government Strategic Advisor

Technical Advisory Committee will create technical strategy, provide advice for partnerships with other institutes to strengthen manufacturing in the U.S. overall.

  • Tom Fuhlbrigge, ABB
  • Rick Barto, Lockheed Martin
  • John Wen, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Elena Messina, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • SK Gupta, University of Southern California
  • Juan Aparicio, Siemens Corporate Technology
  • Matt Robinson, Southwest Research Institute
  • Philip Freeman, Boeing
  • Joerg Schulte, BMW
  • Richard Voyles, Purdue University
  • Jeff Mendoza, United Technologies Research Center
  • John Lizzi, GE
  • Steve Turek, Government Chief Technology Advisor

Regional Collaboratives Council will provide information about regional robotics, manufacturing and workforce efforts across the country, and advise on state funding opportunities, best practices, trends and challenges.

  • MEP (Manufacturing Extension Partnership): Chuck Spangler, South Carolina MEP
  • MEP: Anna Mancuso, Catalyst Connection
  • MEP: Matt Minner, Catalyst Connection
  • Great Lakes: Dan Radomski, Optimal Process Technologies
  • Mid-Atlantic: Glenn Saunders, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
  • North Central: Debbie Franklin, Wichita State University
  • Northeast: Carlos Martinez, ABB
  • Northwest: Bill Smart, Oregon State University
  • South Central: Stavros Kalafatis, Texas A&M University
  • Southeast: Venkat Krovi, Clemson University
  • Southwest: Gregg Profozich, California Manufacturing Technology Consulting (CMTC)